Cozzilla - Restored!!

For the discussion of Toho produced and distributed films or shows released before 1980.
GenoCuddy
Ronin

Cozzilla - Restored!!

Post by GenoCuddy »

Hello everyone,

I was unsure as to where to put this so if any admins read this, please move this to its appropriate forum.

Anyway, about three months ago I was sent a standard definition video file of Luigi Cozzi's infamous 1977 colorized reissue of Godzilla, King of the Monsters, from a film collector in Italy. The print was rather good and provided a much easier experience to restore, especially given that I am not a professional at this. I enhanced both video and audio. I boosted the color, as it was quite faded in parts, and sharpened the image to the best of the limited abilities of the software I used. I converted the mono soundtrack to stereo given that the original 1977 film was said to be in stereophonic sound, and created an interesting effect that rumbled your seat every time Godzilla took a step. I attempted to recreate that through boosting both bass and treble as carefully as possible.

I am posting the link to the completed restoration so that this version can finally get the respect it deserves, true it is not the definitive cut of the film, however it is a fun and unique watch that has been unfairly dismissed due to the abhorrent quality of the film currently available on YouTube.

If by any chance the admins take issue with this link, please feel free to remove it and for those curious, shoot me an email and I will provide the link privately.

I believe all films, no matter how bizarre or tasteless they may be, deserve to be preserved and available for future generations.

Thank you all and enjoy.

- GENO CUDDY

Link: https://archive.org/details/CozzillaRestored
Email: Geno_Cuddy@yahoo.com

Mr_Goji_and_Watch
EDF Instructor

Re: Cozzilla - Restored!!

Post by Mr_Goji_and_Watch »

Thanks for posting, looks pretty good.